Our Governance2018-12-04T12:16:51+00:00


ISN’s corporate and academic governance, rules, admission and other policies, quality assurance and financial processes are underpinned by defined values and goals.

The Board of Directors has empowered the College Council to be the effective governing body of ISN, with overall responsibility for implementing the vision and mission of ISN. The College Council oversees the implementation of ISN’s strategic plan in pursuit of these objectives.

The College Council :

  • Approves new courses and changes to existing courses
  • Monitors and approves student results and scholarships
  • Oversees and monitors the academic quality of programs and courses
  • Initiates academic reviews and improvements
  • Develops approves and implements academic policies and procedures
Professor Tony Paolini, Chair
Professor Tony Paolini, Chair
CEO and President of ISN Psychology, Professor Paolini is an internationally recognised scientist. He has qualifications in psychology (MPsych – Clin Neuro) and in Neuroscience (PhD). He was Head of the Auditory Clinical Neuroscience Unit at the Bionic Ear Institute and worked on the continued development of the cochlear implant examining the relationship between the brains ability to hear sounds in noise and its relationship to intelligence and higher level cognitive functioning. At ISN he continues to apply his auditory expertise and his knowledge of psychology to provide a further understanding of how anxiety contributes to the condition of tinnitus. He is currently Professor in Psychology at RMIT University, Senior Principal Research Fellow at the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health, Director of the Institute for Social Neuroscience. Professor Paolini brings a wealth of academic governance from his prior role as Head of Psychology at RMIT university overseeing more than 10 staff members and over 500 students enrolled in the program.
Professor Graeme Jackson
Professor Graeme Jackson
The Founding Director of the Brain Research Institute and a neurologist at the Austin Hospital, Professor Jackson is internationally recognised for his work in new MRI technologies, particularly in the field of epilepsy. He is a Professorial Fellow of the Department of Medicine and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Radiology, University of Melbourne; an Honorary Neurologist at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne and a Board Member of Neurosciences Victoria. Professor Jackson recently won the highly prestigious 2008 NHMRC Excellence award. He is a director of the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health.
Professor David Buss
Professor David Buss
David M. Buss is a Professor of Psychology at the University of Texas at Austin. He is considered the world’s leading scientific expert on strategies of human mating and one of the founders of the field of evolutionary psychology. His most recent book is The Evolution of Desire: Strategies of Human Mating (revised edition: 2016). He has also authored several other books, including Evolutionary Psychology: The New Science of the Mind; and The Dangerous Passion: Why Jealousy is as Necessary as Love and Sex; The Murderer Next Door: Why the Mind is Designed to Kill; and Why Women Have Sex (with Cindy Meston). Buss has more than 300 scientific publications. He has been cited as one of the 30 most influential living psychologists. Buss lectures widely within the USA and internationally.
Hon Kevin Andrews
Hon Kevin Andrews
Hon Kevin Andrews brings his vast parliamentary experience and committee service to define the strategic directions of ISN Psychology. He is also the Chair of ISN Psychology’s Quality and Risk Committee. He has written many publications including books on biomedical ethics and the social and economic trends shaping the nation. He has represented the community as the Member for Menzies. Ministerial appointments include:

• Minister for Ageing from 26.11.01 to 7.10.03
• Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations from 7.10.03 to 30.1.07
• Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service from 7.10.03 to 30.1.07
• Minister for Immigration and Citizenship from 30.1.07 to 3.12.07
• Minister for Social Services from 18.9.13 to 23.12.14
• Minister for Defence from 23.12.14 to 21.9.15

Dr Jim Penman
Dr Jim Penman
Dr Jim Penman is the founder and CEO of Jim’s Group Pty Ltd, Australia’s most successful franchise business and brings a wealth of business expertise to the governance and management of the Institute.
Dr Penman holds a PhD in history and most recently has been collaborating with Professor Paolini in research projects which have been published in high ranking international journals. He wrote and published Biohistory, Decline and Fall of the West, from which much of the collaborative research has its basis. Jim has a keen interest in the field of Social Neuroscience and the health and wellbeing of society and is the key founder driving the establishment of the Institute.
Rev Dr Max Vodola
Rev Dr Max Vodola
Rev Dr Max Vodola is a lecturer at the Catholic Theological College and is head of the Department of Church History. He lectures in the history of the Church in Australia, 19th/20th century Catholicism and Vatican II. Rev Dr Vodola will contribute to the strategic direction of the Institute. His knowledge of history will contribute to facilitate the mission of ISN Psychology in the context of understanding social change within a historical and epigenetic framework.


The Academic Board oversees the educational processes involved in designing, delivering and assessing ISN courses. They:

  • Approve new courses and changes to existing courses consistent with registration and accreditation requirements;
  • Monitor and approve student results and scholarships;
  • Oversee and monitor the academic quality of programs and courses;
  • Initiate academic reviews and improvements;
  • Develop, approve and implement academic policies and procedures; and
  • Report to the College Council consistent with the objects and purposes of ISN and its colleges.

In addition to Professor Tony Paolini, Professor Graeme Jackson, and Dr Penman mentioned above, the board comprises:

Professor Stephen Kent, AB Wabash, PhD Illinois
Professor Stephen Kent, AB Wabash, PhD Illinois
Currently Head of the School of Psychology and Public Health at La Trobe University, Professor Kent has research and teaching experience in the field of psychology and behavioural and social neuroscience. He brings to ISN the academic governance and administrative experience gained overseeing a large psychology school comprising over 30 academics and over 1,000 students. He brings his vast knowledge to this enterprise in the fields of social neuroscience.
 Ms. Anastasia Panayiotidis
Ms. Anastasia Panayiotidis(MAICD), Consultant Psychologist B.A. (Honours in Psychology), Grad. Dip in Mental Health, University of Melbourne;Graduate Dip in Family Therapy, Masters in Family Therapy (La Trobe University)
Anastasia is a Psychologist who has further qualifications in Family Therapy and Clinical Hypnotherapy. Anastasia has a specialised interest in mental health, neuroscience and mindfulness as well as the impact of trauma on people’s lives, and recovery from psychological trauma. Anastasia has over two decades of experience as a clinician, trainer and lecturer in the fields of Psychology, Counselling and Family Therapy in various work contexts such as the community, educational, government and psychiatric sectors.
Anastasia is keen to bring her knowledge, experience and skills to ISN, to help in the training of the next generation of psychologists and clinicians.